Boîte à outils des modèles de soins

À propos de cette section 

Cette section de la boîte à outils décrit la façon dont des modèles de soins novateurs peuvent être utilisés pour améliorer la coordination entre les équipes de soins contre le cancer et les équipes de soins primaires.

Coordination avec les soins primaires

Les systèmes de santé au sein desquels existe une relation entre les soins primaires et les soins contre le cancer peuvent :

  • rationaliser le diagnostic et la mise en route du traitement;
  • répondre aux besoins de soins physiques, mentaux et sociaux susceptibles d’avoir une influence sur l’observance du traitement;
  • améliorer le soutien pendant les soins prodigués après le traitement;
  • intégrer des ressources communautaires pour, au bout du compte, améliorer les résultats pour les patients.

Les médecins de famille et les autres fournisseurs de soins primaires (FSP), comme le personnel infirmier, les travailleurs sociaux et les diététistes jouent un rôle essentiel dans la coordination des soins contre le cancer, depuis le diagnostic présumé aux soins palliatifs et de fin de vie, en passant par le traitement et la survie.

Pour une grande partie de la population canadienne, le système de lutte contre le cancer présente une intégration limitée avec les soins primaires et communautaires1, une telle situation pouvant être à l’origine d’un certain nombre de difficultés, tant pour les patients que pour les FSP2. Il peut également y avoir des situations dans le cadre desquelles les FSP sont mieux à même de répondre aux besoins de leurs patients atteints d’un cancer, en particulier au cours des phases précédant le diagnostic et suivant le traitement.

Trouver des moyens d’accroître le rôle des équipes de soins primaires

De nombreux modèles de soins existants, axés sur le diagnostic et sur la phase postérieure au traitement, souffrent de la faiblesse de la circulation des renseignements entre les fournisseurs des soins de santé (FSS) et les équipes de diagnostic3, d’un déficit de formation spécialisée sur les modalités de prestation de soins efficaces et centrés sur la personne4 et d’un manque de clarté quant au rôle et aux responsabilités des différents FSS. Les modèles de soins portant sur la phase postérieure au traitement sont généralement dirigés par l’oncologie, restreints sur le plan des capacités et limités dans leur approche des soins holistiques et conformes à la culture. Compte tenu de l’augmentation des taux de survie au cancer et de l’accès limité à l’expertise des spécialistes, il est essentiel que les dirigeants du système de santé trouvent des moyens d’accroître le rôle des équipes de soins primaires4.

Outre l’aide qu’ils apportent aux patients dans la prise en charge de leurs symptômes du cancer, les FSP fournissent également des soins holistiques améliorés, en traitant les affections concomitantes et en offrant des services de prévention et un soutien psychosocial5. La participation de l’équipe de soins primaires d’un patient atteint d’un cancer aux phases de diagnostic, de traitement et de survie va également dans le sens d’une plus grande équité des soins.

Éclairage sur les modèles de soins dans cette section

Le Partenariat et le McMaster Health Forum ont effectué un examen rapide (en anglais seulement) pour recenser des moyens d’améliorer les modèles de soins partagés entre les équipes de soins primaires et les équipes de soins contre le cancer. (Envoyez-nous un courriel pour demander la version française.)

clipart of heart in the centre with puzzle pieces surrounding itPourquoi les soins connectés jouent un rôle important au cours de la phase de traitement

Les personnes qui suivent un traitement contre le cancer sont confrontées à d’autres problèmes de santé, qu’ils soient aigus ou courants. Au cours de cette période, la coordination entre les spécialistes du cancer et les équipes de soins primaires est importante, car elle soutient les fournisseurs de soins primaires (FSP) dans le traitement des maladies chroniques et émergentes non liées au protocole de soins du cancer de leurs patients.

Les résultats signalés par les patients constituent un élément essentiel des soins connectés

L’utilisation d’outils de gestion des résultats signalés par les patients (RSP) garantit que les personnes atteintes d’un cancer subissent régulièrement un dépistage de leurs symptômes physiques et émotionnels.

En Alberta, un tableau de bord facile à consulter permet aux cliniciens de suivre les évolutions et les tendances des symptômes d’un patient, d’une visite à l’autre, et de l’aiguiller plus facilement vers les soutiens dont il a besoin.

L’analyse des données contribue à guider le personnel de santé, en mettant en évidence le fait que les patients atteints de certains cancers ont besoin d’un soutien plus important dans le cadre de la prise en charge de leurs symptômes par des équipes multidisciplinaires, incluant les soins primaires. L’Alberta explore également l’utilisation des RSP pour fournir des soins virtuels efficaces contre le cancer aux personnes vivant dans les régions rurales et éloignées6.

D’autres provinces passent également à la collecte électronique des RSP. Une nouvelle initiative de l’Université Dalhousie, en cours de mise en œuvre au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse, porte sur la collecte et la déclaration électroniques des RSP, pour les patients recevant une radiothérapie.

clipart of a woman with a medical sheet

Les modèles de soins connectés offrent les avantages suivants :

  • Une coordination renforcée entre les soins primaires et les soins contre le cancer peut réduire les temps d’attente, ainsi que le stress et l’anxiété associés à un diagnostic de cancer7;
  • Une utilisation appropriée des ressources de soins dans les établissements dispensant des soins primaires, actifs et palliatifs, ainsi que dans les services d’urgence et les unités de soins intensifs peut réduire le recours à des soins inutiles, par exemple des déplacements dans les services d’urgence8,9;
  • Un accès à un soutien spécialisé, fourni dans le cadre de modèles de soins connectés, peut aider les FSP à se sentir soutenus lorsqu’ils dispensent des services liés au cancer aux patients10;
  • Une collaboration entre tous les membres de l’équipe de soins peut accroître la satisfaction des patients et des FSS, aussi bien sur le plan de la qualité des soins fournis que sur celui des résultats obtenus;
  • L’amélioration de la qualité des soins passe par la prise conjointe des décisions relatives aux soins à prodiguer à un patient par les équipes de soins primaires et de soins contre le cancer.


L’exploration de cette section vous permettra de découvrir des modèles et des exemples de démarches pouvant être mises en œuvre à l’échelle d’un territoire de compétence.

Le premier pas vers des soins équitables

Les données permettant d’étayer le choix des modèles les plus favorables aux soins connectés au sein des collectivités des Premières Nations, des Inuits ou des Métis s’avèrent limitées. Dans ce contexte, la collaboration avec les collectivités autochtones, en vue de déterminer, d’élaborer et de mettre en œuvre des stratégies à l’appui d’une approche collaborative de la prestation de services conformes à la culture et de soins contre le cancer pertinents et adaptés, au sein des collectivités concernées, constitue une étape essentielle.

Que souhaitez-vous voir d’autre?

Pour que cette boîte à outils continue d’offrir de la valeur à ceux qui l’utilisent, nous aimerions avoir votre avis. De nouveaux modèles sont-ils disponibles? Devrions-nous nous concentrer sur un autre domaine prioritaire?

  1. Lavis, J. N., Hammill, A. C. (2016). Care by sector. Dans Ontario’s health system: Key insights for engaged citizens, professionals and policymakers, sous la direction de Lavis J.N. Hamilton : McMaster Health Forum, p. 209-69. 
  2. Tremblay, D., Latreille, J., Bilodeau, K. et coll. (2016). Improving the transition from oncology to primary care teams: A case for shared leadership. J Oncol Pract, 12(11), 1012-1019.
  3. Tremblay, D., Prady, C., Bilodeau, K. et coll. (2017). Optimizing clinical and organizational practice in cancer survivor transitions between specialized oncology and primary care teams: a realist evaluation of multiple case studies. BMC Health Serv Res, 17(1).
  4. Meiklejohn, J. A., Mimery, A., Martin, J. H. et coll. (2016). The role of the GP in follow-up cancer care: a systematic literature review. J Cancer Surviv, 10(6), 990-1011.
  5. Kang, J., Park, E. J., Lee, J. (2019). Cancer survivorship in primary care. Korean J Fam Med, 40(6), 353-361.
  6. Watson, L., Qi, S., Delure, A. et coll. (2021). Virtual cancer care during the COVID-19 pandemic in Alberta: Evidence from a mixed methods evaluation and key learnings. JCO Oncol Pract, 17(9), e1354-e1361.
  7. Conseil de la qualité des soins oncologiques de l’Ontario. (2016). Programmatic Review on the Diagnostic Phase: Environmental Scan (examen programmatique de la phase de diagnostic : analyse de l’environnement.
  8. Gorin, S. S., Haggstrom, D., Han, P. K. J., Fairfield, K. M., Krebs, P., Clauser, S. B. (2017). Cancer care coordination: A systematic review and meta-analysis of over 30 years of empirical studies. Ann Behav Med, 51(4), 532-546.
  9. Mittmann, N., Beglaryan, H., Liu, N. et coll. (2018). Examination of health system resources and costs associated with transitioning cancer survivors to primary care: A propensity-score–matched cohort study. J Oncol Pract, 14(11), e653-e664.
  10. Zhao, Y., Brettle, A., Qiu, L. (2018). The effectiveness of shared care in cancer survivors-A systematic review. Int J Integr Care, 18(4), 2.
  11. Jensen, H. (2015). Implementation of cancer patient pathways and the association with more timely diagnosis and earlier detection of cancer among incident cancer patients in primary care. Thèse de doctorat : Université d’Aarhus.
  12. Møller, H., Gildea, C., Meechan, D., Rubin, G., Round, T., Vedsted, P. (2015). Use of the English urgent referral pathway for suspected cancer and mortality in patients with cancer: cohort study. BMJ, 351, h5102.
  13. Prades, J., Espinàs, J. A., Font, R., Argimon, J. M., Borràs J. M. (2011). Implementing a Cancer Fast-track Programme between primary and specialised care in Catalonia (Spain): a mixed methods study. Br J Cancer, 105(6), 753-759.
  14. Partenariat canadien contre le cancer. (2018). Leading Practices to Create a Seamless Patient Experience for the Pre-Diagnosis Phase of Care: An Environmental Scan. Consulté le 22 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://canimpact.utoronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/Leading- Practices-to-Create-a-Seamless-Patient-Experience-for-the-Pre-Diagnosis-Phase-of-Care-CPAC-2018.pdf
  15. Walsh, J., Young, J. M., Harrison, J. D. et coll. (2011). What is important in cancer care coordination? A qualitative investigation. Eur J Cancer Care (Engl), 20(2), 220-227.
  16. Wong, W. F., LaVeist, T. A., Sharfstein, J. M. (2015). Achieving health equity by design. JAMA, 313(14), 1417-1418.
  17. Vedsted, P., Olesen, F. (2015). A differentiated approach to referrals from general practice to support early cancer diagnosis – the Danish three-legged strategy. Br J Cancer, suppl 1(S1), S65-9.
  18. All.Can. Danish Cancer Patient Pathways: three-legged strategy for faster referral and diagnosis of cancer. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://www.all-can.org/efficiency-hub/danish-cancer-patient-pathways-three-legged-strategy-for-faster-referral-and-diagnosis-of-cancer/.
  19. Santé Ontario (Action Cancer Ontario). Navigating the Diagnostic Phase of Cancer – Ontario’s Strategic Directions 2014-2018. Consulté le 23 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://www.cancercareontario.ca/sites/ccocancercare/files/assets/CCODAPStrategyReport.pdf.
  20. Lewis, R. A., Neal, R. D., Hendry, M. et coll. (2009). Patients’ and healthcare professionals’ views of cancer follow-up: systematic review. Br J Gen Pract, 59(564), e248-59.
  21. Cancer Council Victoria. (2017). Optimal Care Pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People with Cancer Draft for National Public Consultation. Consulté le 22 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://apo.org.au/sites/default/files/resource-files/2017-09/apo-nid108366.pdf.
  22. Jefford, M., Koczwara, B., Emery, J., Thornton-Benko, E., Vardy, J. L. (2020). The important role of general practice in the care of cancer survivors. Aust J Gen Pract, 49(5), 288-292.
  23. Action cancer Manitoba. Programme Moving Forward After Cancer. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://www.cancercare.mb.ca/Treatments/after-treatment-is-over.
  24. Alberta Health Services. Home to Hospital to Home Transitions. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/info/Page17125.aspx.
  25. Santé Ontario (Action Cancer Ontario). Follow-Up Model of Care for Cancer Survivors. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse (en anglais seulement) : https://www.cancercareontario.ca/sites/ccocancercare/files/guidelines/full/FollowUpModelOfCareCancerSurvivors.pdf.
  26. Partenariat canadien contre le cancer. Plus de 5 000 ambulanciers dans six provinces pourront offrir des soins palliatifs à domicile. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse : https://www.partnershipagainstcancer.ca/fr/news-events/news/article/5000-paramedics-six-provinces-palliative-care-home/.
  27. Association canadienne de soins palliatifs. Initiative Aller de l’avant. (2013). Modèles novateurs de soins palliatifs intégrés : Des soins qui intègrent l’approche palliative. Consulté le 24 novembre 2021. Disponible à l’adresse : http://www.integrationdessoinspalliatifs.ca/media/40315/TWF-innovative-models-report-Fr-2.pdf.

Models of Care Toolkit

About this section

This section of the toolkit describes how innovative models of care can be used to enhance the coordination of care between cancer care and primary health care teams.

Coordination with primary care

Health systems that connect cancer and primary health care can:

  • Streamline diagnosis and initiation of treatment
  • Address the physical, mental and social care needs that may affect treatment compliance
  • Enhance support during post-treatment care
  • Integrate community resources to ultimately improve patient outcomes

Family doctors and other primary health care providers such as nurses, social workers and dietitians are critical to the coordination of cancer care beginning with suspected diagnosis, through treatment, survivorship, palliative and end of life care.

For many in Canada, the cancer system has limited integration with primary and community care1, which can create challenges for both patients and primary health care providers.2 There may also be instances where primary health care providers are better suited to meet the needs of their patients with cancer, especially in the pre-diagnosis and post-treatment.

Finding ways to increase the role of primary health care teams

Many existing models of care that focus on diagnosis and post-treatment are plagued with poor information flow among care providers and diagnostic teams3, a lack of specialty training in how to provide effective and person-centred care4 and a lack of clarity about roles and responsibilities across providers. Post-treatment models are commonly oncology-led, constrained in capacity and limited in their approach to culturally appropriate, holistic care. With increasing cancer survivorship rates and limited access to specialist expertise it is critical that health-care system leaders find ways to increase the role of primary health care teams4.

In addition to helping patients manage cancer symptoms, primary health care providers enhance whole-person care by treating comorbidities and providing preventive services and psychosocial support.5 Involving a patient’s primary health care team in cancer diagnosis, treatment and survivorship also supports equitable care.

Informing the models of care in this section

The Partnership and McMaster Health Forum conducted a rapid review to identify ways to enhance shared care models between primary care and cancer care teams.

clipart of heart in the centre with puzzle pieces surrounding itWhy connected care during treatment matters

People undergoing cancer treatment face other acute and routine health concerns. Coordination between cancer specialists and primary care is important during this time and will support primary health care providers in the treatment of chronic and emerging conditions that are unrelated to their patient’s cancer treatment regimen.

Patient Reported Outcomes are a critical component of connected care

The use of patient reported outcome (PRO) tools ensures patients with cancer are regularly screened for physical and emotional symptoms.

In Alberta, an easy-to-read dashboard allows clinicians to track changes and trends in a patient’s symptoms from visit to visit and helps to connect patients with appropriate supports.

Data analysis helps guide staff by demonstrating that patients with certain cancers require more support with symptom management by multidisciplinary teams including primary health care. Alberta is also exploring the use of PROs to provide effective virtual cancer care for people living in rural and remote areas6.

Other provinces are shifting to collecting PROs electronically. A new Dalhousie University initiative that is being implemented in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia focuses on electronic collection and reporting of PROs for patients receiving radiation treatment.

clipart of a woman with a medical sheet

Connected care models provide the following benefits:

  • Enhanced coordination between primary health care and cancer care can reduce wait times and reduce the stress and anxiety associated with a cancer diagnosis7
  • Appropriate health care utilization in primary, acute and hospice care settings, emergency departments and intensive care units can reduce unnecessary care such as trips to emergency departments8,9
  • Access to specialist support provided through connected-care models helps primary health care providers feel supported in the delivery of cancer-related services to patients10
  • Collaboration among all members of the health-care team yields greater patient and provider satisfaction with both the quality of care provided, and treatment outcomes
  • Enhanced quality of care is achieved when cancer and primary health care teams work together to make decisions related to a patient’s care

Explore this section for models and examples of approaches for jurisdictional implementation.

The first step towards equitable care

There are limited data on which models best support connected care in First Nations, Inuit or Métis communities. Working with Indigenous communities to identify, develop and implement strategies that support a collaborative approach to the delivery of culturally appropriate and competent cancer care in their communities is a critical step.

What do you want to see next?

To ensure this toolkit continues to provide value to those who use it, we’d love to hear from you. Are there new models available? Should we focus on another priority area?

  1. Lavis JN, Hammill AC. Care by sector. In Lavis JN (editor), Ontario’s health system: Key insights for engaged citizens, professionals and policymakers. Hamilton: McMaster Health Forum; 2016, p. 209-69.
  2. Tremblay D, Latreille J, Bilodeau K, et al. Improving the transition from oncology to primary care teams: A case for shared leadership. J Oncol Pract. 2016;12(11):1012-1019.
  3. Tremblay D, Prady C, Bilodeau K, et al. Optimizing clinical and organizational practice in cancer survivor transitions between specialized oncology and primary care teams: a realist evaluation of multiple case studies. BMC Health Serv Res. 2017;17(1).
  4. Meiklejohn JA, Mimery A, Martin JH, et al. The role of the GP in follow-up cancer care: a systematic literature review. J Cancer Surviv. 2016;10(6):990-1011.
  5. Kang J, Park EJ, Lee J. Cancer survivorship in primary care. Korean J Fam Med. 2019;40(6):353-361.
  6. Watson L, Qi S, Delure A, et al. Virtual cancer care during the COVID-19 pandemic in Alberta: Evidence from a mixed methods evaluation and key learnings. JCO Oncol Pract. 2021;17(9):e1354-e1361.
  7. Cancer Quality Council of Ontario. Programmatic Review on the Diagnostic Phase: Environmental Scan.; 2016.
  8. Gorin SS, Haggstrom D, Han PKJ, Fairfield KM, Krebs P, Clauser SB. Cancer care coordination: A systematic review and meta-analysis of over 30 years of empirical studies. Ann Behav Med. 2017;51(4):532-546.
  9. Mittmann N, Beglaryan H, Liu N, et al. Examination of health system resources and costs associated with transitioning cancer survivors to primary care: A propensity-score–matched cohort study. J Oncol Pract. 2018;14(11):e653-e664.
  10. Zhao Y, Brettle A, Qiu L. The effectiveness of shared care in cancer survivors-A systematic review. Int J Integr Care. 2018;18(4):2.
  11. Jensen, H. Implementation of cancer patient pathways and the association with more timely diagnosis and earlier detection of cancer among incident cancer patients in primary care. PhD dissertation. Aarhus University; 2015
  12. Møller H, Gildea C, Meechan D, Rubin G, Round T, Vedsted P. Use of the English urgent referral pathway for suspected cancer and mortality in patients with cancer: cohort study. BMJ. 2015;351:h5102
  13. Prades J, Espinàs JA, Font R, Argimon JM, Borràs JM. Implementing a Cancer Fast-track Programme between primary and specialised care in Catalonia (Spain): a mixed methods study. Br J Cancer. 2011;105(6):753-759.
  14. Canadian Partnership Against Cancer. Leading Practices to Create a Seamless Patient Experience for the Pre-Diagnosis Phase of Care: An Environmental Scan. 2018. Accessed November 22, 2021. https://canimpact.utoronto.ca/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/Leading-Practices-to-Create-a-Seamless-Patient-Experience-for-the-Pre-Diagnosis-Phase-of-Care-CPAC-2018.pdf
  15. Walsh J, Young JM, Harrison JD, et al. What is important in cancer care coordination? A qualitative investigation: What is important in care coordination? Eur J Cancer Care (Engl). 2011;20(2):220-227.
  16. Wong WF, LaVeist TA, Sharfstein JM. Achieving health equity by design. JAMA. 2015;313(14):1417-1418.
  17. Vedsted P, Olesen F. A differentiated approach to referrals from general practice to support early cancer diagnosis – the Danish three-legged strategy. Br J Cancer. 2015;112 Suppl 1(S1):S65-9.
  18. All.Can. Danish Cancer Patient Pathways: three-legged strategy for faster referral and diagnosis of cancer. Accessed November 24, 2021. https://www.all-can.org/efficiency-hub/danish-cancer-patient-pathways-three-legged-strategy-for-faster-referral-and-diagnosis-of-cancer/
  19. Ontario Health (Cancer Care Ontario). Navigating the Diagnostic Phase of Cancer – Ontario’s Strategic Directions 2014-2018. Accessed November 23, 2021. https://www.cancercareontario.ca/sites/ccocancercare/files/assets/CCODAPStrategyReport.pdf
  20. Lewis RA, Neal RD, Hendry M, et al. Patients’ and healthcare professionals’ views of cancer follow-up: systematic review. Br J Gen Pract. 2009;59(564):e248-59.
  21. Cancer Council Victoria. Optimal Care Pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People with Cancer Draft for National Public Consultation.; 2017. Accessed November 22, 2021. https://apo.org.au/sites/default/files/resource-files/2017-09/apo-nid108366.pdf
  22. Jefford M, Koczwara B, Emery J, Thornton-Benko E, Vardy JL. The important role of general practice in the care of cancer survivors. Aust J Gen Pract. 2020;49(5):288-292.
  23. Cancer Care Manitoba. Manitoba’s Moving Forward After Cancer program. Accessed November 24, 2021. https://www.cancercare.mb.ca/Treatments/after-treatment-is-over
  24. Alberta Health Services. Home to Hospital to Home Transitions. Accessed November 24, 2021. https://www.albertahealthservices.ca/info/Page17125.aspx
  25. Ontario Health (Cancer Care Ontario). Follow-Up Model of Care for Cancer Survivors. Accessed November 24, 2021. https://www.cancercareontario.ca/sites/ccocancercare/files/guidelines/full/FollowUpModelOfCareCancerSurvivors.pdf
  26. Canadian Partnership Against Cancer. 5,000+ paramedics in six provinces to provide palliative care in the home. Accessed November 24, 2021. https://www.partnershipagainstcancer.ca/news-events/news/article/5000-paramedics-six-provinces-palliative-care-home/
  27. Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association. Innovative Models of Integrated Hospice Palliative Care, the Way Forward Initiative: An Integrated Palliative Approach to Care.; 2013. Accessed November 24, 2021. http://www.hpcintegration.ca/media/40546/TWF-innovative-models-report-Eng-webfinal-2.pdf