Boîte à outils des modèles de soins

Modèle de réseau

coeur, maison, hopital, bureau, ordinateur
Au sein du système de santé, un modèle de réseau est un groupe offrant des services spécialisés et coordonnés dans un établissement central connecté à plusieurs centres secondaires pour la prestation des traitements et des services de soutien.

Dans des pays comme le Canada, où la densité de population varie considérablement d’une région à l’autre, les modèles de réseaux peuvent améliorer l’accès aux soins dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées. Ils permettent l’intégration relativement sans heurt des établissements constituant les branches de l’étoile au centre de ces réseaux et garantissent la continuité des soins dans les régions rurales et éloignées.

Organisés par région, les réseaux facilitent l’accès aux soins spécialisés plus près du domicile des patients. Les plans de soins des patients peuvent être élaborés avec des spécialistes, en collaboration avec les FSS dans les centres de cancérologie communautaires, plutôt que de demander aux patients de se déplacer pour recevoir leurs soins.

Le passage des systèmes de santé vers les soins virtuels, en réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, et les progrès des solutions de santé numérique rendent les modèles de réseaux d’autant plus pertinents. Ces innovations virtuelles facilitent également les conférences de cas entre les membres du réseau.

Des données probantes montrent que les modèles de réseaux peuvent :

  • Raccourcir le temps écoulé entre l’aiguillage et l’évaluation initiale;
  • Réduire les temps d’attente pour accéder aux services spécialisés dans les centres tertiaires;
  • Améliorer les résultats pour les patients, ainsi que les taux de survie3,4;
  • Permettre aux patients de rester au sein de leur famille, auprès de leurs aidants, ainsi que de leurs réseaux de soutien;
  • Réduire les dépenses directes des patients ainsi que le coût global des soins dans l’ensemble du système de santé5,6. S’il est vrai que les modèles de réseaux apportent au système la capacité d’assurer des services de cancérologie plus intégrés, il ne faut cependant pas perdre de vue qu’ils nécessitent des processus de gouvernance à plusieurs échelons, tenant compte des atouts et des limites des programmes de lutte contre le cancer provinciaux et territoriaux. Les éléments à prendre en considération en matière de gestion du changement doivent comprendre la contribution de tous les échelons d’un système de lutte contre le cancer et inclure des consultations avec les centres de santé communautaires, en vue de garantir que l’approche élaborée est bien holistique7.

Importance des résultats signalés par les patients

La détermination du moment où un patient doit consulter son oncologue constitue une partie importante du modèle en réseau. La collecte et l’utilisation régulières des résultats signalés par les patients (RSP) contribuent à déclencher, au meilleur moment, le transfert d’un patient d’un centre communautaire de soins contre le cancer à un centre tertiaire. Les modèles de réseaux placent le patient au centre des soins.

La présente boîte à outils comprend des ressources pour la formation du personnel infirmier à la pratique avancée. Consultez les ressources de formation.

En réponse aux défis que représente le recrutement de médecins généralistes à l’appui des cliniques communautaires de cancérologie, l’Alberta a mis au point un modèle de soins virtuels novateur. Dans le cadre de ce modèle, une infirmière praticienne spécialisée en oncologie travaillant dans un centre de cancérologie tertiaire tient des cliniques hebdomadaires virtuelles avec des patients, dans des centres de cancérologie communautaires. Les infirmières praticiennes sont soutenues par des oncologues médicaux qui les encadrent en matière de pratiques de soins optimales, tout en favorisant l’amélioration permanente de leurs compétences.

Des infirmières autorisées, travaillant dans des centres de cancérologie communautaires, assistent aux visites virtuelles et offrent un soutien sur place aux patients, en collaboration avec l’infirmière praticienne du centre tertiaire, pour faciliter les évaluations. Dans certains cas, des infirmières autorisées en milieu communautaire dirigent des visites avec des patients qui n’ont pas besoin d’être évalués par des infirmières praticiennes, à chaque cycle.

Afin de favoriser la prestation des meilleurs traitements disponibles, l’infirmière praticienne du centre tertiaire est à la disposition de l’équipe du centre communautaire, tout au long de la semaine, pour la guider et pour apporter son aide en fonction des besoins thérapeutiques, au fur et à mesure qu’ils se manifestent.

Pour communiquer avec le responsable du modèle de l’Alberta.

Le modèle de soins virtuels dirigé par du personnel infirmier praticien de l’Alberta intègre également l’optimisation du champ d’exercice. En savoir plus.

Les réseaux de cancérologie du Québec organisent la prestation des soins et des services autour d’équipes interprofessionnelles, spécialisées et surspécialisées, dans plusieurs centres. Ces réseaux, prenant en charge un siège tumoral, mettent en place des liens clairs et définis entre les membres de l’équipe traitante et des équipes des différents centres. Ce modèle a été intégralement mis en œuvre pour le cancer du poumon et est en cours d’extension à d’autres sièges tumoraux.

Pour les patients, la centralisation des services spécialisés dans de petits centres améliore l’accès à l’expertise dans les régions rurales et éloignées et la rapidité d’accès aux services. Le « guichet d’accès rapide » du programme permet de rationaliser le processus de planification du diagnostic et du traitement et de réduire les coûts associés aux examens inutiles ou la répétition des services de diagnostic8.

Pour les membres de l’équipe, le réseau favorise le partage des connaissances entre les centres, aboutissant ainsi à des protocoles normalisés améliorés et à l’homogénéité des pratiques. L’approche en équipe permet de réduire l’isolement du personnel et de renforcer la résilience des personnes et des organisations.

En savoir plus sur les réseaux de cancérologie du Québec9.

Une petite collectivité de Nouvelle-Zélande a élaboré un modèle à l’appui de la prestation de services de soins palliatifs dans une vaste région géographique. Un centre de soins palliatifs centralisé joue le rôle de plaque tournante centralisant l’expertise en soins palliatifs, offrant des services de soins aux patients hospitalisés et à domicile. Ce modèle en étoile fournit également des services de consultation et des conseils d’experts aux FSP qui en constituent les « rayons » et prodiguent eux-mêmes des soins palliatifs au sein de la collectivité et dans les hôpitaux régionaux.

Le modèle vise à ce que la plupart des soins palliatifs et de fin de vie soient dispensés par des FSP, les spécialistes des services de soins palliatifs ne prenant en charge que les cas complexes et fournissant des conseils, si nécessaire, dans les autres cas. L’équipe interprofessionnelle comprend des spécialistes en médecine palliative, des professionnels paramédicaux, ainsi que des médecins de famille.

Le modèle en étoile encourage la collaboration régionale et la normalisation des traitements. L’évaluation du modèle montre qu’il a permis de réduire les coûts, aussi bien pour le système que pour les patients. En mettant l’accent sur les collectivités rurales et éloignées, il a fait la preuve de sa pertinence pour les collectivités autochtones du pays, en favorisant l’accès à des soins rapides et conformes à la culture.

Le modèle néo-zélandais en étoile met également en relation les équipes de soins primaires et les spécialistes en oncologie. En savoir plus.

En savoir plus sur le modèle en étoile de la Nouvelle-Zélande10

  1. Andermann A. Taking action on the social determinants of health in clinical practice: a framework for health professionals. CMAJ. 2016;188(17-18):E474-E483.
  2. Riley-Behringer M, Davis MM, Werner JJ, Fagnan LJ, Stange KC. The evolving collaborative relationship between Practice-based Research Networks (PBRNs) and clinical and translational science awardees (CTSAs). J Clin Transl Sci. 2017;1(5):301-309.
  3. Stone CJL, Vaid HM, Selvam R, Ashworth A, Robinson A, Digby GC. Multidisciplinary clinics in lung cancer care: A systematic review. Clin Lung Cancer. 2018;19(4):323-330.e3.
  4. Brown BB, Patel C, McInnes E, Mays N, Young J, Haines M. The effectiveness of clinical networks in improving quality of care and patient outcomes: a systematic review of quantitative and qualitative studies. BMC Health Serv Res. 2016;16(1).
  5. Hunter RM, Davie C, Rudd A, et al. Impact on clinical and cost outcomes of a centralized approach to acute stroke care in London: A comparative effectiveness before and after model. PLoS One. 2013;8(8):e70420.
  6. Reeders J, Ashoka Menon V, Mani A, George M. Clinical profiles and survival outcomes of patients with well-differentiated neuroendocrine tumors at a health network in new South Wales, Australia: Retrospective study. JMIR Cancer. 2019;5(2):e12849.
  7. Tremblay D, Touati N, Roberge D, et al. Understanding cancer networks better to implement them more effectively: a mixed methods multi-case study. Implement Sci. 2016;11(1):39.
  8. Labbe C, Martel S, Fournier B, Saint-Pierre C. P1.15-13 wait times for diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer across the province of Quebec, Canada. J Thorac Oncol. 2018;13(10):S615-S616.
  9. Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux. Cadre de référence pour la mise en place de réseaux par siège tumoral. Accessed December 2, 2021. https://publications.msss.gouv.qc.ca/msss/document-002357
  10. Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association. Innovative Models of Integrated Hospice Palliative Care, the Way Forward Initiative: An Integrated Palliative Approach to Care.; 2013. Accessed November 24, 2021. http://www.hpcintegration.ca/media/40546/TWF-innovative-models-report-Eng-webfinal-2.pdf
  11. Sedgewick JR, Ali A, Badea A, Carr T, Groot G. Service providers’ perceptions of support needs for Indigenous cancer patients in Saskatchewan: a needs assessment. BMC Health Serv. Res. 2021;21(1)
  12. Ontario Health (Cancer Care Ontario). Complex Malignant Hematology Models of Care: Recommendations for Changes in the Roles and Composition of the Multidisciplinary Team and the Setting of Care to Improve Access for Patients in Ontario – March 2017. Accessed December 2, 2021. https://www.cancercareontario.ca/en/guidelines-advice/types-of-cancer/43051%5d

Model of Care Toolkit

Network model

clipart with a heart in the centre and then on the surrounding edges a home, hospital, office buildings, computer
In the health care system, a network model is a group where specialized services are delivered and coordinated at one centre that is connected to multiple centres for treatment delivery and support.

In countries like Canada, where population density varies significantly across regions, network models can improve access to care in rural and remote communities. It allows for the relatively seamless integration of spoke facilities into these networks and ensures continuity of care in rural and remote regions.

Organized by region, the networks support access to specialist care closer to home. Patient care plans can be developed with specialists in collaboration with providers at community cancer centres rather than relying on patients to travel to receive care.

The health systems’ pivot to virtual care in response to the COVID-19 pandemic and advances in digital health solutions are also enhancing the value of network models. These virtual innovations also facilitate case conferencing among network members.

Evidence shows that network models can:

  • Improve the time from referral to initial assessment
  • Reduce wait-times for accessing specialized services in tertiary centres
  • Improve patient outcomes and survival rates.3,4
  • Allow patients to remain with their families, caregivers, and support systems
  • Reduce out of pocket costs for patients and reduce overall cost of care across the health system.5,6 While network models add capacity to ensure more integrated cancer services, these models require multi-level governance processes that are responsive to the strengths and limitations of jurisdictional cancer programs. Change management considerations must include input from all levels of a cancer system and include consultation with community health centres to ensure a holistic approach is developed.7

The value of Patient Reported Outcomes

Understanding when a patient needs to visit their oncologist is an important part of the network model. The routine collection and use of Patient Reported Outcomes (PRO) helps trigger the transfer of a patient from a community cancer centre to a tertiary centre. The network model puts the patient at the centre of the care.

This toolkit includes resources for advanced practice training for nurses. View the training resources.

In response to recruitment challenges of general practitioners to support community cancer clinics, Alberta developed an innovative virtual care model. In the model, a specialized oncology nurse practitioner in a tertiary cancer centre holds virtual weekly clinics with patients in community cancer centres. Nurse practitioners are supported by medical oncologists who coach the nurses in optimal care practices while supporting their ongoing competency development.

At the community cancer centres, community-based registered nurses attend the virtual visits and provide on-site support for patients, working with the tertiary-centre nurse practitioner to facilitate assessments. In some instances, community-based registered nurses lead visits with patients who do not need assessments by nurse practitioners each cycle.

To support best available care, the tertiary centre-based nurse practitioner is available to the community site team throughout the week to guide and address care needs as they arise.

Connect with Alberta’s model lead.

Alberta’s nurse practitioner led virtual care model also includes optimized scope of practice for nurse practitioners. Learn more.

Quebec’s cancer networks organize care and service delivery around specialized and subspecialized interprofessional teams at multiple centres. These disease site-specific networks create clear and defined links between individuals within the care team and teams at different centres. The model has been fully implemented in lung cancer and is being expanded to other disease sites.

For patients, centralizing specialized services in small centres improves access to expertise within rural and remote areas and timeliness of access to services. The program’s “quick access desk” streamlines the diagnosis and treatment planning process and reduces costs associated with unnecessary testing or duplication of diagnostic services.8

For team members, the network promotes knowledge sharing across sites leading to improved standardized protocols and homogenous practice. The team-based approach helps reduce isolation of the staff and develop the resilience of individuals and organizations.

Learn more about Quebec’s cancer networks.9

A small community in New Zealand developed a model to support the delivery of palliative care services across a broad geographic area. A centralized hospice serves as a ‘hub’ of palliative care expertise, providing inpatient and homecare services, and consults and provides expert guidance for primary health care providers who serve as palliative care ‘spokes’ within the community and regional hospitals.

The model aims to have most palliative and end-of-life care provided by primary health care providers, with specialist palliative care services managing complex cases and providing guidance where necessary. The interprofessional team includes palliative medicine specialists, allied health professionals and family physicians.

The hub-and-spoke model encourages regional collaboration and standardization of care. Evaluation of the model shows reduced costs for the system, the patient. With a focus on rural and remote communities, it has shown to be of value for the country’s Indigenous communities as it supports access to timely and culturally appropriate care.

New Zealand’s hub-and-spoke model also connects primary health care teams with oncology specialists. Learn more about coordination with primary care.

Learn more about the New Zealand’s hub-and-spoke model.10

  1. Andermann A. Taking action on the social determinants of health in clinical practice: a framework for health professionals. CMAJ. 2016;188(17-18):E474-E483.
  2. Riley-Behringer M, Davis MM, Werner JJ, Fagnan LJ, Stange KC. The evolving collaborative relationship between Practice-based Research Networks (PBRNs) and clinical and translational science awardees (CTSAs). J Clin Transl Sci. 2017;1(5):301-309.
  3. Stone CJL, Vaid HM, Selvam R, Ashworth A, Robinson A, Digby GC. Multidisciplinary clinics in lung cancer care: A systematic review. Clin Lung Cancer. 2018;19(4):323-330.e3.
  4. Brown BB, Patel C, McInnes E, Mays N, Young J, Haines M. The effectiveness of clinical networks in improving quality of care and patient outcomes: a systematic review of quantitative and qualitative studies. BMC Health Serv Res. 2016;16(1).
  5. Hunter RM, Davie C, Rudd A, et al. Impact on clinical and cost outcomes of a centralized approach to acute stroke care in London: A comparative effectiveness before and after model. PLoS One. 2013;8(8):e70420.
  6. Reeders J, Ashoka Menon V, Mani A, George M. Clinical profiles and survival outcomes of patients with well-differentiated neuroendocrine tumors at a health network in new South Wales, Australia: Retrospective study. JMIR Cancer. 2019;5(2):e12849.
  7. Tremblay D, Touati N, Roberge D, et al. Understanding cancer networks better to implement them more effectively: a mixed methods multi-case study. Implement Sci. 2016;11(1):39.
  8. Labbe C, Martel S, Fournier B, Saint-Pierre C. P1.15-13 wait times for diagnosis and treatment of lung cancer across the province of Quebec, Canada. J Thorac Oncol. 2018;13(10):S615-S616.
  9. Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux. Cadre de référence pour la mise en place de réseaux par siège tumoral. Accessed December 2, 2021. https://publications.msss.gouv.qc.ca/msss/document-002357
  10. Canadian Hospice Palliative Care Association. Innovative Models of Integrated Hospice Palliative Care, the Way Forward Initiative: An Integrated Palliative Approach to Care.; 2013. Accessed November 24, 2021. http://www.hpcintegration.ca/media/40546/TWF-innovative-models-report-Eng-webfinal-2.pdf
  11. Sedgewick JR, Ali A, Badea A, Carr T, Groot G. Service providers’ perceptions of support needs for Indigenous cancer patients in Saskatchewan: a needs assessment. BMC Health Serv. Res. 2021;21(1)
  12. Ontario Health (Cancer Care Ontario). Complex Malignant Hematology Models of Care: Recommendations for Changes in the Roles and Composition of the Multidisciplinary Team and the Setting of Care to Improve Access for Patients in Ontario – March 2017. Accessed December 2, 2021. https://www.cancercareontario.ca/en/guidelines-advice/types-of-cancer/43051%5d