Ressource sur les politiques locales et provinciales ou territoriales en matière d’alcool

Utilisez cette ressource pour soutenir la prise de décisions fondées sur des données probantes en vue de diminuer la consommation d’alcool

Dans cette ressource sur les politiques en matière d’alcool

Données contextuelles

La consommation de boissons alcoolisées est classée comme cancérogène pour l’homme par le Centre International de Recherche sur le Cancer.1 Il existe de solides preuves qui établissent un lien causal entre l’alcool et le cancer touchant sept sièges : oropharynx, larynx, oesophage, foie, sein, côlon et rectum.2

Risques relatifs par type de cancer et consommation d’alcool

Risques relatifs par type de cancer et consommation d’alcool
D’après : American Society of Clinical Oncology et résultats de l’article de Bagnardi et coll. (2015).

Comme le montre la figure ci-dessus, pour ces cancers, le risque est directement lié à la dose3 Pour le cancer du sein et le cancer colorectal, qui sont associés à des risques relatifs plus faibles par rapport aux autres sièges, leurs taux d’incidence supérieurs au Canada contribuent à des répercussions plus importantes au sein de la population.

La consommation d’alcool au Canada est en hausse, et cette situation est due en grande partie au manque de sensibilisation aux risques pour la santé (y compris les risques de cancer), et à un accès accru aux produits alcoolisés ainsi qu’à une plus grande disponibilité de ceux-ci.4  Historiquement, les stratégies visant à diminuer les méfaits causés par l’alcool adoptaient une approche éducative axée sur la consommation « excessive » d’alcool.5 La mise en œuvre de politiques efficaces s’appuyant sur les stratégies existantes en matière de politiques liées à l’alcool et sur les expériences précédentes de la lutte contre le tabagisme favoriseront la diminution de la consommation d’alcool et des risques de cancer au Canada.

Références
1- Centre International de Recherche sur le Cancer (CIRC). (2010). IARC monographs on the evaluation of carcinogenic risks to humans, volume 96. Alcohol consumption and ethyl carbamate. Lyon, France : CIRC. Tiré de : http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol96/mono96.pdf.
2- Connor, J. (2016). Alcohol consumption as a cause of cancer. Addiction. doi : 10.1111/add.13477.
3- LoConte, N., Brewster, A., Kaur, J., Merrill, J., et Alberg, A. (2018). Alcohol and Cancer: A Statement of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 36(1), 83-93.
4- Giesbrecht, N., Wettlaufer, A., April, N., Asbridge, M., Cukier, S., Mann, R., McAllister, J., Murie, A., Plamondon, L., Stockwell, T., Thomas, G., Thompson, K., et Vallance, K. (2013). Strategies to reduce alcohol-related harms and costs in Canada: A comparison of provincial policies. Toronto : Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale.
5- Ibid

Alcohol policy pack: Local and provincial/territorial governments

Use this policy pack to support evidence-informed policy interventions to reduce alcohol consumption

Inside this alcohol policy pack

Background evidence

The consumption of alcoholic beverages is classified by the International Agency for Research on Cancer as carcinogenic to humans.1 There is strong evidence to support a causal link between alcohol and cancer at seven sites in the body: oropharynx, larynx, oesophagus, liver, breast, colon and rectum.2

Relative risks by cancer type and alcohol intake

The graph shows the risk of oral, pharynx and esophageal squamous and other cancers for light, moderate and heavy drinkers
The above table is adapted from American Society of Clinical Oncology and results of Bagnardi et al (2015).

For the types of cancers shown in the diagram, risk is directly related to dose.3 For breast and colorectal cancers, which have lower relative risks compared to other cancer sites, the higher incidence rates of these cancers in Canada contributes to larger population-level impact.

Alcohol consumption in Canada is on the rise, due in large part to a lack of awareness of health risks (including cancer risk) and increasing access and availability of alcohol products.4 Strategies to reduce alcohol-related harms have traditionally taken an educational approach focused on ‘excessive’ alcohol consumption.5 Implementing effective policies that build on existing alcohol policy strategies and previous experiences in tobacco control will support reductions in alcohol consumption and cancer risk in Canada.

References
1- International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC). IARC monographs on the evaluation of carcinogenic risks to humans, volume 96. Alcohol consumption and ethyl carbamate. Lyon, France: IARC; 2010. Available from: http://monographs.iarc.fr/ENG/Monographs/vol96/mono96.pdf.
2- Connor, J. (2016). Alcohol consumption as a cause of cancer. Addiction. doi:10.1111/add.13477.
3- LoConte, N, Brewster, A, Kaur, J, Merrill, J, and Alberg, A. (2018). Alcohol and Cancer: A Statement of the American Society of Clinical Oncology. Journal of Clinical Oncology, 36:1, 83-93.
4- Giesbrecht, N, Wettlaufer, A, April, N, Asbridge, M, Cukier, S, Mann, R, McAllister, J, Murie, A, Plamondon, L, Stockwell, T, Thomas, G, Thompson, K, and Vallance, K. (2013). Strategies to reduce alcohol-related harms and costs in Canada: A comparison of provincial policies. Toronto: Centre for Addiction and Mental Health.
5- Ibid.