Canadian Partnership Against Cancer welcomes new Board Chair, Vice-Chair and members

The Canadian Partnership Against Cancer’s (the Partnership) Board of Directors recently elected Jeff Zweig as Chair, Dr. André Corriveau as Vice-Chair and welcomed four new Board members from across Canada; each bringing professional and personal perspectives to help drive measurable change that will benefit all people in Canada affected by cancer.

Mr. Zweig joined the Partnership’s Board of Directors in June 2016. He is a Partner, Vice-Chair, and Head of Asset Management at Fiera Comox, a global private investment firm. Mr. Zweig has served on several for-profit and not-for-profit boards in the past and will guide the Partnership’s efforts to achieve the goals of the Canadian Strategy for Cancer Control.

The new Board members will augment the diverse experience of the Partnership’s current Board of Directors in key areas including provincial health services, strategic policy, audit and finance.

The Partnership’s new board members include:

Government representatives

  • Kristy Anderson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Hospital and Provincial Health Services, BC Ministry of Health
  • Lynne Tomson, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Strategic Policy Branch, Health Canada

Non-government representatives

  • Dr. Doreen Neville, retired Vice-Chair, Committee of Experts, Independent Review of the Public Post-Secondary Education System, NL
  • Shannon Ryhorchuk, Partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers

These individuals will join the current Board of Directors which includes Julien Billot, Dr. Katherine Chubbs, Dr. André Corriveau (Vice-Chair), Dr. Michael Crump, Linda Dempster, Melanie Fraser, Dr. Desirée Hao, David Lai, Dr. Darren Larsen, Dr. Jean Latreille, Michelle Owen, Dr. David Sabapathy, Andrea Seale, Cheryl Smith and Jeff Zweig (Chair).

The Partnership thanks outgoing Board members, Ewan Clark, Karen Herd, Helen Mallovy Hicks and Dr. Eshwar Kumar for their leadership and contributions over their tenure.

We also recognize and thank our outgoing Chair, Dr. Graham Sher, for his leadership through his many valuable years of service. Dr. Sher joined the Partnership’s Board of Directors in June 2012 and was elected Chair in 2016. His vision of the value and contribution of the Partnership in Canada’s federated healthcare landscape has been a guiding force.

For more information on our Board, visit Board of Directors.